Major Additional Historical Events of Nepal

Historical Events Time/Date
Arrival of Bipaswi Buddha in Nepal Satya epoch
Manjushree established the settlement in Kathmandu valley which was in the form of a pond by draining out the water through the gorge he made by cutting the hill Treta epoch
The first king of Nepal, Dharmakar Treta epoch
The sixth Kirati King, Humati Mahabharat war period
Arrival of Gautam Buddha in Nepal During the time of the seventh Kirati king, Jitedasti
Arrival of emperor Ashok in Nepal During the time of the fourth Kirati king, Sthunko
The rise of Lichchhavi dynasty Around 110 AD
The ruling period of the first Lichchhavi king, Jaydev At around the beginning of Christian era
The accession by Basantadev 563 BS
The ruling period of Mandev Shake Sambat 386 to 413
The rise of Amsubarma 662 BS
Establishment Khas state by Naagraj 1150 AD
The accession by Krachalla of Khas Empire 1264 BS
Invasion to Kathmandu valley by Khas king, Jitari 1344 Push, 1345 Phagun, 1346 Phagun
Invasion to Kathmandu valley by Aditya Malla 1384 BS
Establishment of Karnatak state in Tirhut (Simraungadh) by Nanyadev 1154 BS
The rise of Malla dynasty 1257 BS
The ruling period of the first Malla king, Ari Malla 1257 BS – 1274 BS
The invasion to the last King of Simraungadh, Hariharsingdev by the Muslim Emperor of Delhi, Gayasuddin Tuglak, total destruction of Karnatak state 1381 BS
The accession by Jaysthiti Malla 1380 BS
The invasion to Nepal by the ruler of Bengal, Samusuddin Iliyas 1406 BS
The ruling period of Yaksha Malla 1428-1539 BS
The ruling period of Ratna Malla 1541-1577 BS
Establishment of Gorkha state by Drabya Shah 1616 BS
The ruling period of the king of Gorkha, Ram Shah 1663-1690 BS
The ruling period of Pratap Malla 1698-1731 BS
The accession by Mahendra Malla 1617 BS
The establishment of Patan Krishnamandir by Siddhinarsingh Malla 1693 BS
The ruling period of Bhupatindra Malla 1753-1779 BS
The first invasion to Nuwakot by Prithivi Narayan Shah 1800 BS
The second invasion to Nuwakot and victory over it by Prithivi Narayan Shah 1801 BS
The first invasion to Kirtipur 1814 Jeth 19 (BS)
Victory over Makwanpur 1819 Bhadau 9 (BS)
The victory of Gorkhali over Gurgin Khan-led troops sent by the king of Bangal, Nawab Mirkasim 1663 January 30 (AD)
The second invasion to Kirtipur 1821 Asoj 4 (BS)
The third invasion to Kirtipur and victory over it 1822 Chait 3 (BS)
The invasion to Kinlok-led English troops sent for the assistance to Jayaprakash Malla and victory over them 1824 BS
Victory over Kathmandu 1825 Bhadrasukla, on Sunday (on the day of Indrajatra)
Victory over Lalitpur 1825 BS
Victory over Bhaktapur 1826 Kartiksukla Dwadashi
Death of Prithivi Narayan Shah 1831 BS
Trade treaty between Nepal and Tibet 1775 September (AD)
Peace accord between Nepal and Gadhwal 1791 AD
The first war between Nepal and Tibet 1788-1789 AD
Kerung treaty between Nepal and Tibet 1789 June 2 (AD)
The second war between Nepal and Tibet 1792 October (AD)
Trade treaty between Nepal and East India Company 1849 Baishakh 3 (BS)
Publication of Gorkhapatra 1958 BS
Basathhiharan or Birtaharan 1862 BS
Nepal-Britain war 1814-1816 (AD)
Treaty of Sugauli (Between Nepal and Britain) 1872 Phagun 24 BS (4 March, 1816)
First Ambassador to Nepal, Edward Garner, Britain 1816 May (AD)
The third war between Nepal and Tibet 1855-1856 (AD)
Thapathali treaty between Nepal and Tibet 1912 Chait (BS)
Kot Parwa 1903 Asoj 2 (BS)
Bhandarkhal Parwa 1846 October 31 (AD) (1903 Kartik 17 BS)
Alau Parwa 1904 Baishakh (BS)
The title Shree 3 conferred to Junga Bahadur 1913 Shrawan (BS)
Jungabahadur brought back ‘New Country’: Banke, Bardiya, Kailali and Kanchanpur from British after the Indian insurgency of 1875 AD through accord with them 1916 BS
Nepal’s first National Code 1910 BS
Abolition of Sati Pratha 1977 BS
Makai Parwa 1977 BS
Establishment of Tri-chandra College 1978 BS
Abolition of slavery practice 1981 BS
Banning of Arya Prachar 1987 BS
Library Parwa 1987 BS
Prachanda Gorkha Parwa 1988 BS
Establishment of Nepal Praja Parishad 1993 Jeth 20 (BS)
Establishment of All India Nepali Congress 2002 Magh 12 (BS)
Establishment of Nepali Democratic Congress 1949 AD
Jogwani Conference 2004 Jeth (BS)
First Labor Strike 2003 Phagun 11 (BS)
Jayatu Sanskritam Satyagraha against the Rana Regime 2004 Baishakh 1 (BS)
Declaration of legislative law of Nepal 2004 Magh 13 (BS)
Nepal Praja Panchayat 2005 Asoj (BS)
Establishment of Nepal Communist Party 2006 Bhadau 30 (BS)
Nepal-India friendship treaty 2007 Shrawan (BS)
Declaration of democracy 2007 Phagun 7 (BS)
Interim governance legislation of Nepal 2007 Phagun 7 (BS)
First general election 2015 BS
Establishment of Panchayat System 2017 Push 1 (BS)
Declaration of the constitution of Nepal, 2019 2019 Push 1 (BS)
Back to the Village Program 2028 BS
Zone of Peace Proposition 2031 Phagun 13 (BS)
Declaration of referendum 2036 Jeth 10 (BS)
Referendum 2037 Baishakh 20 (BS)
Satyagraha (Passive Resistance) 2042 BS
Formation of United Leftist Front 2046 Magh 2 (BS)
Reinstatement of Multi-party system 2046 Chait 26 (BS)
The Constitution of the Kingdom of Nepal, 2047 2047 Kartik 23 (BS)
Establishment of CPN (UML) 2047 Push 22 (BS)
The first general election after the reinstatement of democracy 2048 Baishakh 29 (BS)
Mid-term election 2051 Kartik 29 (BS)
Beginning of the armed insurgency by CPN Maoist 2052 Phagun 1 (BS)
General election, 2056 2056 Baishakh 2 and 3 (BS)
Royal massacre 2058 Jeth 19 (BS)
Royal Announcement by King Gyanendra 2061 Magh 19 (BS)
Signing of Comprehensive Peace Accord between the Government of Nepal and Maoist 2063 Mangsir 5 (BS)
Promulgation of The Interim Constitution of Nepal, 2063 2063 Magh 1 (BS)
Election of the historical constituent assembly in Nepal 2064 Chait 28 (BS)
The first meeting of constituent assembly/ declaration of republic and the end of Monarchy of Shah Dynasty 2065 Jeth 15 (BS)
Leaving of Narayanhiti palace by King Gyanendra 2065 Jeth 29 (BS)
Election of president and vice-president 2065 Shrawan 6 (BS)
Taking of oath of office by Dr. Rambaran Yadav, the first president of the republic of Nepal 2065 Shrawan 8 (BS)
Formation of the first republican government under the premiership of CPN Maoist leader, Puspa Kamal Dahal (Prachanda) 2065 Bhadau (BS)
The dissolution of the first constituent assembly 2069 Jeth 14 (BS)
Formation of interim council of ministers to election 2069 Chait 1 (BS)
The election of the second constituent assembly 2070 Mangsir 4 (BS)
The first meeting of the second constituent assembly 2070 Magh 8 (BS)
18th SAARC Summit, Kathmandu 2071 Mangsir 11-12 (BS)
Formation of Truth and Reconciliation Commission and Commission of Investigation on Enforced Disappeared Persons 2071 Magh 26 (BS)
Promulgation of the Constitution of Nepal 2072 Asoj 3 (BS)
Shree Bidhya Devi Bhandari elected as the second president of the republic of Nepal 2072 Kartik 13 (BS)
First amendment of the Constitution of Nepal 2072 Phagun 16 (BS)
Shree Bidhya Devi Bhandari re-elected as the president 2074 Phagun 29 (BS)
Shree Ram Chandra Poudel elected as the president 2079 Phagun 29 (BS)

Source: Government of Nepal Ministry of Communication and Information Technology Department of Information and Broadcasting.


2 thoughts on “Major Additional Historical Events of Nepal”

  1. 1826- 1831 KO history padna paiyeana
    Prithivi naryan Shah lae purba MHA ladeko ithass khojera upload garnu paryo.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *