The Cultural Heritages of Nepal Enlisted in World Heritage List

A) Kathmandu Valley

After Nepal ratified the convention or became a member, Nepal appealed for enlistment of peerless, incomparable cultural heritages of Kathmandu valley because of their unique global importance, authenticity and ceaselessness, and UNESCO/WHC approved the appeal and decided to include them in world heritage (UNESCO/WHC, 1979).

Kathmandu Durbar Square

This way, after enlistment of the seven places of Kathmandu valley as one in the world heritage site, for its moral liability and high level security for its protection, the Government of Nepal, as per the section 3 of Ancient Monuments Protection Act, 2013, the major law regarding the protection of heritages of Nepal, had declared

Patan Durbar Square

(Government of Nepal, 2036, 2041, 2055) those seven areas as separate protected monuments: Swayambhu (2036 BS), Hanumandhoka, Patan and Bhaktapur Durbar Square, Changunarayan and Bauddha (2041 BS), Pashupati (2055 BS).

patan durbar square
Patan Durbar Square
B) Lumbini, the Birthplace of Lord Buddha, World Heritage Site

Nepal sent an appeal to UNESCO/WHC in 1996 for the enlistment of Lumbini, known as the birthplace of Lord Buddha, in the World Heritage List 17 years after it ratified World Heritage Convention, 1972. One year after in 1997, World Heritage Committee decided to enlist Lumbini in World Heritage List. (UNESCO/WHC, 1997).

Mayadevi Temple, Lumbini

The area is directly related to the birth of Lord Buddha, the pioneer of Buddhist religion and philosophy as there are Lumbini sacred garden and archeological remaining around the places. These days, Buddhist religion and philosophy have been adopted by maximum people around the world.

Source: Government of Nepal Ministry of Communication and Information Technology Department of Information and Broadcasting.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *