Cultural and Natural Heritages of Nepal Enlisted in World Heritage List

The heritages, monuments established as the properties during the development process of human mind, society and culture are precious heritages.

The heritages are the shared heritage of the world humankind and protection of them is the responsibility of all of us.

These heritages once destroyed are generally impossible to reconstruct. The destruction of such heritages means the destruction of human heritages.

With the aim of protecting such heritages, UNESCO has established the Convention Concerning the Protection of World Cultural and Natural Heritage, 1972 as World Heritage Convention, 1972 and as per the provision of the convention, World Heritage Committee has been listing different cultural and natural heritages as world heritage. World Heritage Convention, 1972 came into effect from 1975 and Nepal has ratified the convention in 1978.

The Cultural Heritages Enlisted in World Heritage List: More details click here 

The Natural Heritages Enlisted in World Heritage List: More details click here 

Potential World Heritage Sites

Nepal has already enlisted different national heritages in probable world heritage list twice: in 1996 AD and in 2008 AD. Out of that, Lumbini, the birthplace of Lord Buddha, which was enlisted in the potential world heritage list in 1996 AD was included in the world heritage list with due process in 1997 AD according to the appeal of the Government of Nepal. Apart from this, the following national heritage sites are still enlisted in potential world heritage list (

1. Cave architecture of Muktinath Valley of Mustang (23/05/1996)
2. Khokana, the vernacular village and its mustard-oil seed industrial heritage        (23/05/1996)
3. Ramagrama, the relic stupa of Lord Buddha (23/05/1996)
4. The early medieval architectural complex of Panauti (23/05/1996)
5. The medieval palace complex of Gorkha (23/05/1996)
6. Tilaurakot, the archaeological remains of ancient Shakya Kingdom(23/05/1996)
7. Medieval Earthen Walled City of Lho Manthang (30/01/2008)

8. Medieval Settlement of Kirtipur (30/01/2008)
9. Nuwakot Palace Complex (30/01/2008)
10. Ram Janaki Temple (30/01/2008)
11. Bhurti Temple Complex of Dailekh (30/01/2008)
12. Rishikesh Complex of Ruru Kshetra (30/01/2008)
13. Sinja valley (30/01/2008)
14. The Medieval Town of Tansen (30/01/2008)
15. Vajrayogini and early settlment of Sankhu (30/01/2008)

Natural and Cultural Heritages of Nepal Enlisted in World Heritage List

S.No. Heritage Date of Enlistment Area Major Attraction
1 Changunarayan 1979 AD   Inscription at
Changunarayan temple
2 Bhaktapur Durbar 1979 AD    
3 Swayambhunath 1979 AD   World famous Baudha Mahabihar
4 Boudhanath Stupa 1979 AD   36m tall Baudha Stupa
5 Hanumandhoka Durbar 1979 AD   Kastamandap, Statue of Hanuman, Basantapur Durbar, Taleju temple, Kumari house, museum etc.
6 Pashupatinath 1979 AD 264 hectare Pashupatinath temple, Jayabageshwori, Devpattan, Shlesmantak forest, Guheshwori etc.
7 Patan Durbar 1979 AD   Krishna temple,
Mahabaudha, Rato
temple, museum etc
8 Sagarmatha National Park 1979 AD  

The mountain peaks like  Mt. Everest, Mt.
Lhotse, Mt. Chou,
Lophophorus, snow
leopard etc.

9 Chitwan National Park 1984 AD 932 sq.
The animals and
birds like one-horned
rhinoceros, striped
tiger, peacock and
different vegetation
10 Lumbini 1997 AD 11150
sq. km

The birthplace of Buddha, Mayadevi
temple, Ashoka pillar,
Pushkarini pond,
museum etc.

– Source: Government of Nepal, Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Department of Archaeology

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *